Surgery Websites
Resident Research »  J. Engelbert Dunphy Resident Research Symposium

33rd Annual Resident Research Symposium

Kibbe 1000x1294Melina R. Kibbe, MD
2020 Dunphy Professor


The J. Engelbert Dunphy Resident Research Symposium is an annual event which showcases the research of residents, fellows and medical students in the Department of Surgery, and honors the life and accomplishments of J. Engelbert Dunphy, M.D., a legendary surgeon and a former chair of the UCSF Department of Surgery.

Call for Abstracts

**Due to concerns around the COVID-19 outbreak, the 2020 Research Symposium, originally scheduled for Wednesday, April 8, will be postponed to a later date. This page will be updated once the timing of the rescheduled event is confirmed.** 

  • 8:00 am - Continental Breakfast
  • 8:30 am - Resident Presentations
  • 2:15 pm - Keynote Lecture by Melina R. Kibbe, MD
  • 3:30 pm - Awards Presentation

*Times subject to change


UCSF Medical Center at Mission Bay
William and Susan Oberndorf Auditorium
1855 4th Street, Room A1602B (first floor)
San Francisco, CA 94158

Parking in nearby UCSF parking garages will be validated upon request. 

Questions? Please contact the Surgery Education Office at (415) 476-1239 or email the event coordinator:


About the 2020 Dunphy Professor

Melina R. Kibbe, MD, is the Colin G. Thomas, Jr. Distinguished Professor and Chair of the Department of Surgery at UNC-CH, and Professor in the Department of Biomedical Engineering. She has significant experience with both open and endovascular surgery, including the treatment of carotid stenosis, peripheral vascular disease, and abdominal aortic aneurysms. She is board certified in general and vascular surgery and is RVT and RPVI certified by ARDMS. Dr. Kibbe is also the Editor in Chief of JAMA Surgery.

Dr. Kibbe’s research interests focus on vascular biology and developing novel therapies for patients with vascular disease. For her research, she has received funds from the National Institutes of Health, the American Heart Association, the Department of Veterans Affairs, the American Medical Association, and various intramural sources. She holds 11 patents or provisional patents. Her research was recognized by President Obama with the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers in 2009. In 2017, Dr. Kibbe was elected to the National Academy of Medicine. 

Site Directory